cottage herb loaf

IMG_20160219_182852596

The philosophers had a game night on Friday, which was preceded by a potluck. I brought a loaf from the Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book to share. Although I bought this book over a year ago, I have so far made only two recipes from it: the basic whole wheat bread and an oatmeal bread that I’ve brought to department functions on several occasions. I love both recipes, and that’s largely why I haven’t been more adventurous: why fix what isn’t broken?

The game night, coupled with a full day at home, provided the perfect occasion for trying something new. This bread has cottage cheese, dill weed, parsley, and onion–an entirely novel bread combination for me. The dough was pretty challenging to knead, at least by hand, because it was so sticky. I’m sure I added at least a half cup extra of flour as I kneaded, and I could probably have done a little more (at some point, I just gave up and put it rise, since I was pressed for time). The results, however, were delectable. We ate the whole loaf alongside bowls of split-pea soup (a contribution from one of the other philosophers).

***

Cottage herb loaf

1/4 c minced onion; 2 tbl oil

2 tsp active dry yeast; 1/2 c warm water

1 c cottage cheese; 1/2 c finely chopped parsely; 1 tbl dill

1 1/2 tbl honey; 1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 tsp salt; 2 1/2 whole wheat flour

Dissolve yeast in water and set aside. Saute the onion in oil. When the onions are tender, stir in cottage cheese, parsely, and dill. (I turned the heat off for this, since the goal is just to warm the herbs and cottage cheese). Add the honey and egg to the cottage cheese mixture. Stir salt and flour together, then add cottage cheese mixture and yeast. Stir/knead it all together to form a supple dough. Let rise for 45 minutes in a very warm place (should be about 90 degrees F; I heated my oven for this). When the dough doesn’t spring back at your touch, but before it starts to sag, punch down and let rise for 25 minutes. When the dough is ready, shape into a round loaf and put to rise (I put mine in a ceramic pie dish). The last rise should take about 15 minutes, if your dough is properly warmed. Heat oven to 350 F. When the loaf is very high and spongy, brush the top with olive oil and put in the oven. Bake for about 45 minutes.

***

I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

xoxo

Allison

 

6 thoughts on “cottage herb loaf

  1. Bethany

    This sounds grand, our bread experiment this week was a fennel loaf which turned out quite nice. After nearly a year of uninterrupted wild yeast breads I have been doing a little more experimenting (mostly out of lack of preparation a.k.a. laziness). Speaking of which, I should get my culture going if I want to have bread again this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joelle Holland

    Laurel’s Kitchen was my first healthy cookbook. I used it for many years before passing it on to a friend. It now sits lovingly on my cookbook shelf again. I will have to look for her bread book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

