Thursday’s Bread Pudding and (finally!) the brownie recipe

Yesterday was the perfect day for a baking adventure: I had a tight schedule of much to do and no time to spare. Why am I always compelled into the kitchen on the busy days? Well, we had half a loaf of Mom’s homemade craisin-pecan bread getting sad in the fridge, and since I had so much time on my hands I decided to search deep into Smitten Kitchen’s history and find this pudding. It was actually pretty quick, and was exactly what the cold afternoon needed. The differences between my bread pudding and Deb’s: I halved the recipe (except the eggs which I used two of), used honey instead of sugar, instead of bakery or Challah bread I used Mom’s, and I omitted the sliced almonds simply because we didn’t have any. And guess what! I still got all my school done 🙂

DSC_5870

Okay, Allison. Here is the brownie recipe (you won’t be disappointed):

Guittard Truffle Brownies:

1-2/3 C. Guittard 63% Extra Dark Chocolate Chips

3 Tbs. Unsalted Butter (I think I actually used salted and it was fine)

3 Tbs. Water

1 C. Sugar

1/2 tsp. Salt

1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

3 large eggs

1/4 C. Unsifted all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat and, once again, it was fine)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line an 8-inch square pan with aluminum foil, leaving edges long enough to easily use as handles to lift the pan out of the oven once baked. Melt chocolate, butter and water till smooth and totally melted, then beat in sugar, salt and vanilla with a wooden spoon. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, until glossy. Stir in flour till barely combined. Spread batter in pan and bake 35-40 minutes. A crackly top crust will form, but the center will still be very moist. Place the pan on a rack and cool completely before serving, so the chocolate can solidify (will take at 2-3 hours at room temperature). Remove the brownies by lifting out the foil, divide into squares (16?) and enjoy!

Love from Oregon,

Faerynn M.

4 thoughts on “Thursday’s Bread Pudding and (finally!) the brownie recipe

  1. Bethany

    This sounds delicious, a wonderful cozy recipe for February. We made these fantastic brownies again this week! They are a winner every time.

    Like

  2. Hooray! Do you think I can get Guittard chips just anywhere????? (p.s. I’m really into bread pudding right now. I had some last night at a restaurant. It was very dry–pretty disappointing. Yours looks rich and moist though!)

    Like

    1. Faerynn

      We got our Guittard chocolate chips at Ware-mart, so you should be able to find them at any regular grocery store. If not, I’m sure another dark chocolate chip variety would do just as well! The bread pudding was the perfect texture–mine turned out more moister than SK’s, I think, but I like it that way 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

